I am totally kicking the ass of this homeownership thing.  I am primarily proudest of my ability to remain calm and not have the compulsion to constantly work on something.  The truth is, not only do I not have the energy, but I also don’t want to work on a bunch of stuff after a long day at work of working on a bunch of stuff. 

I come home in the evenings and I’m like a fifties housewife (only without the marriage, which was probably key in this metaphor).  Check it out, Monday night I got home after a glorious (horrible) 45 minute bus commute and immediately set to work planting more seeds, repotting two plants, installing a deadbolt on the front door, putting in a load of laundry and finally making dinner.  I don’t know how it happened, but I can promise you, this much productivity on a work day is not going to happen too often.

There is of course still this weird drive to “address” things.  If nothing else, I want them documented in a list somewhere of things that may or may not happen one day in either the near or very distant future.  The floors will be refinished. It will not be before we have a housewarming party.  The bathrooms will be painted.  It will be before we have a housewarming party.  And god save the household budget, if I don’t set it up soon my head may explode.  It’s only a matter of time before the rest of the family falls in line with my “Johnny Says Relax” attitude.  Or at least I can hope as much.

